First Reconciliation & First Eucharist

confessionholy_eucharist1
Reconciliation
Is one of the least understood of the sacraments of the Catholic Church. Reconciling ourselves to God is a great source of grace, and Catholics are encouraged to take advantage of it often.  Catholics believe that all of the sacraments were instituted by Jesus Christ himself. In the case of Reconciliation, that institution occurred on Easter Sunday, when Christ first appeared to the apostles after his Resurrection. Breathing on them, he said: “Receive the Holy Spirit. For those whose sins you forgive, they are forgiven; for those whose sins you retain, they are retained” (John 20:22-23).

Understand the Sacrament of Reconciliation: the sacrament explained.    

Holy Communion: Our Life in Christ
The Sacrament of Holy Communion is the third of the Sacraments of Initiation. Even though we are required to receive Communion at least once per year (our Easter Duty), and the Church urges us to receive Communion frequently (even daily, if possible), it is called a sacrament of initiation because, like Baptism and Confirmation, it brings us into the fullness of our life in Christ.

In Holy Communion, we are eating the True Body and Blood of Jesus Christ, without which “you shall not have life in you” (John 6:53).

Understand the Sacrament of Holy Eucharist: the sacrament explained.

(For Baptised Youth age 7+)

 What you need to register: 

· Copy of child’s Baptism Certificate

· $25 fee for each sacrament ($50 to register for both)

How to register for the 2017/2018 school year:

Registration for the fall/winter sessions:
Thursday September 28, 2017 – 9AM to 6PM
Saturday September 30, 2017 – 9AM to 12PM

We will only accept registrations for Fall/Winter sessions in September/October. Please wait until the March Registration Dates to register for the Spring classes.

Registration for the spring sessions:
Thursday March 8, 2018 – 9AM to 6PM
Saturday March 10, 2018 – 9AM to 12PM

Contact Amber Tweedy at 780-456-5399 ext. 105 or email at youth@saint-charles.com if you have any questions.

Sacramental Preparation Session Dates:

1st Reconciliation & 1st Eucharist Fall/Winter Class Schedule:

Saturday October 14, 2017: 930AM to 1130AM- BOTH GROUPS – Teaching Mass
Saturday October 21, 2017: GroupA:9AM and Group B:1045AM – Nave (Main Church)
Saturday October 28, 2017: 9AM and 1045AM – Activity Centre (Gym)
Saturday November 4, 2017: 9AM and 1045AM – Activity Centre (Gym)
Saturday November 11, 2017: No Class – Remembrance Day Long Weekend
Saturday November 18, 2017: 9AM and 1045AM – Activity Centre (Gym)
Saturday November 25, 2017: 9AM and 1045AM – Activity Centre (Gym)

Reconciliation Celebration: Wednesday November 22, 2017 at 630PM
(all children celebrate First Reconciliation on the same day)

First Eucharist celebrations times are chosen at Registration. This year we will be celebrating them all within a weekend so that the celebration is more special for the children and so that they do not forget what they have learned by waiting several weeks before celebrating their Sacrament. Fall celebrations will be on either Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe or the First weekend of Advent.

First Eucharist Celebration choices will be:
Sunday November 26, 2017 at 9AM, 11AM, or 7PM
Saturday December 2, 2017 at 430PM

1st Reconciliation & 1st Eucharist Spring Class Schedule:

Saturday April 14, 2018: 930AM to 1130AM – BOTH GROUPS – Teaching Mass
Saturday April 21, 2018: Group A: 9AM and Group B: 1045AM – Nave (Main Church)
Saturday April 28, 2018: 9AM and 1045AM – Activity Centre (Gym)
Saturday May 5, 2018: 9AM and 1045AM – Activity Centre (Gym)
Saturday May 12, 2018: 9AM and 1045AM – Activity Centre (Gym)
Saturday May 19, 2018: No Class – Victoria Day Long Weekend
Saturday May 26, 2018: 9AM and 1045AM – Activity Centre (Gym)

Reconciliation Celebration: Wednesday May 23, 2018 at 630PM
(all children celebrate First Reconciliation on the same day)

First Eucharist celebration times are chosen at the time of Registration.

First Eucharist celebrations times are chosen at Registration. This year we will be celebrating them all within a weekend so that the celebration is more special for the children and so that they do not forget what they have learned by waiting several weeks before celebrating their Sacrament. Spring celebrations will be on the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi).

First Eucharist Celebration choices will be:
Saturday June 2, 2018 at 430PM
Sunday June 3, 2018 at 9AM, 11AM, or 7PM