First Reconciliation & First Eucharist

confessionholy_eucharist1
Reconciliation
Is one of the least understood of the sacraments of the Catholic Church. Reconciling ourselves to God is a great source of grace, and Catholics are encouraged to take advantage of it often.  Catholics believe that all of the sacraments were instituted by Jesus Christ himself. In the case of Reconciliation, that institution occurred on Easter Sunday, when Christ first appeared to the apostles after his Resurrection. Breathing on them, he said: “Receive the Holy Spirit. For those whose sins you forgive, they are forgiven; for those whose sins you retain, they are retained” (John 20:22-23).

Understand the Sacrament of Reconciliation: the sacrament explained.    

Holy Communion: Our Life in Christ
The Sacrament of Holy Communion is the third of the Sacraments of Initiation. Even though we are required to receive Communion at least once per year (our Easter Duty), and the Church urges us to receive Communion frequently (even daily, if possible), it is called a sacrament of initiation because, like Baptism and Confirmation, it brings us into the fullness of our life in Christ.

In Holy Communion, we are eating the True Body and Blood of Jesus Christ, without which “you shall not have life in you” (John 6:53).

Understand the Sacrament of Holy Eucharist: the sacrament explained.

(For Baptised Youth age 7+)

 What you need to register: 

· Copy of child’s Baptism Certificate

· $50 for materials (we teach the Sacraments together so your child will be learning about Reconciliation and Eucharist in these classes)

How to register for the 2017/2018 school year:

Registration for the fall/winter sessions:
Thursday October 4, 2018 – 9AM to 6PM
Saturday October 6, 2018 – 9AM to 12PM

We will only accept registrations for Fall/Winter sessions in October. Please wait until the February Registration Dates to register for the Spring classes.

Registration for the spring sessions:
Thursday February 7, 2019 – 9AM to 6PM
Saturday February 9, 2019 – 9AM to 12PM

Contact Amber Tweedy at 780-456-5399 ext. 105 or email at youth@saint-charles.com if you have any questions.

Sacramental Preparation Session Dates:
1st Reconciliation & 1st Eucharist Fall/Winter Class Schedule:

Wednesday October 10, 2018: PARENTS ONLY – 630PM to 730PM
ALL of the following classes must be attended by both the child and an adult. All classes are mandatory (barring illness/emergency).
Thursday October 18, 2018: 
Teaching Mass – Class One – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday October 25, 2018: 
Class Two – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday November 1, 2018: 
Class Three – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday November 8, 2018: 
Class Four – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday November 15, 2018: 
Class Five – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday November 22, 2018: 
Class Six – 630PM to 8PM

Reconciliation Celebration: Thursday November 29, 2018 at 630PM
(all children celebrate First Reconciliation on the same day)

First Eucharist celebrations times are chosen at Registration and are first come, first serve.

First Eucharist Celebration choices will be:
Sunday December 2nd, 2018 at 9AM, 11AM, 7PM
Saturday December 8th, 2018 at 430PM
Sunday December 9th, 2018 at 9AM or 7PM
Saturday December 15th, 2018 at 430PM
Sunday December 16th, 2018 at 9AM, 11AM, 7PM
Saturday December 22nd, 2018 at 430PM
Sunday December 23rd, 2018 at 9AM, 11AM, 7PM

1st Reconciliation & 1st Eucharist Winter/Spring Class Schedule:

Wednesday February 20, 2019: PARENTS ONLY – 630PM to 730PM
ALL of the following classes must be attended by both the child and an adult. All classes are mandatory (barring illness/emergency).
Thursday February 28, 2019:
Teaching Mass – Class One – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday March 7, 2019: 
Class Two – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday March 14, 2019: 
Class Three – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday March 21, 2019: 
Class Four – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday March 28, 2019: NO CLASS – SPRING BREAK
Thursday April 4, 2019: 
Class Five – 630PM to 8PM
Thursday April 11, 2019: 
Class Six – 630PM to 8PM

Reconciliation Celebration: Wednesday April 24, 2019 at 630PM
(all children celebrate First Reconciliation on the same day)

First Eucharist celebration times are chosen at the time of Registration and are first come, first serve.

First Eucharist Celebration choices will be:
Sunday April 28, 2019 at 11AM or 7PM
Saturday May 4, 2019 at 430PM
Sunday May 5, 2019 at 9AM, 11AM, 7PM
Sunday May 12, 2019 at 9AM, 11AM, 7PM
Saturday May 18, 2019 at 430PM
Sunday May 19, 2019 at 9AM, 11AM, 7PM